A New Tradition

Standard

Throughout my husband and my life together we have had a few Christmas trees. Each has had their own story. Each was special in its own way.

Our first tree was given to us by my grandmother. It was special because it had seen many years already in her home. When we were first married we were dirt poor just like many others. We were high school sweethearts who married young. But we were poor without knowing it. We were “living on love” and relishing our new life together (and figuring out how to live together) Okay, it really wasn’t all roses, and I didn’t really relish every day… but you get what I mean. During this time I hand painted all our ornaments, You know, the plaster cheapy ones. But I think I did a pretty good job! I still have some of them today. Our stockings were hung on the wall, not on a mantle. But we made some awesome memories these first few years in front of that tree.

After a while we moved out of that rent house and into our first owned home. It was time for a new tree. That old tree had done its job many years over and it was time for something new. So we saved up and bought our first new tree. I was proud of this one. I personally picked it out and brought her home. This tree moved with us several times and is in fact still with us today. She is special. She has seen three little ones celebrate their first Christmas. Three little ones have decorated her, been in awe of her, and made their own handmade ornaments to adorn her branches.

Then one year we were in between homes. We picked up and moved to a tiny apartment. The tree we loved would not fit in this space that we barely fit into our selves. I have to say this year was not a good one for me. Christmas made me depressed more than it made me happy. I would have done without a tree all together except I had little eyes who would not understand the absence of a tree. But now looking back, that tree is special too. She reminds me of a time when Christmas was not about having lots of materials. Most of our things were in storage including all the decorations I had collected over the years. This year we celebrated being healthy and together knowing this was a year of transition. She is still with us too. This tree now decorates our front porch. Poor thing isn’t even inside worthy anymore! That makes me laugh. But every time I look at her I know we have spent many different kinds of Christmas’ together and we made it through them all. I am proud of that one too.

This bring me to this year. A new tradition in our new life. This year we have picked out a real tree. Our first real tree. She is kind of puny. She isn’t perfectly shaped like all the pretty fake ones. But she has come right off of our farm. She is home-grown for sure. And this tree really sums up this place we have come to in our life. We are not flashy people. Our evenings these days are spent at home watching the fire in our wood burning stove living in our log cabin. It almost seems a crime to not have a real tree don’t you think? All the kids and my husband have been out several times scoping for just the right one. They all worked together to shape her and trim her up to bring her in. Unfortunately this tree will not see many years as the others have. She will be loved and decorated one time. She isn’t made to last but she will help sustain us through the rest of the winter. We will stand beside her embers and warm to her glow as she keeps us warm. Soon Spring will come and a new tree will take root and next year we will go out and pick her out from all the others all over again.

SONY DSC

All of these trees have been good to us. We have been blessed! No matter what kind of tree you gather around this year I hope this season brings you happiness. Wether your tree is small, large, fake, real, transitional, old, fancy, or homespun… I hope your home is full of love and your tree helps bring your family many memories this Christmas Season.

Leave a comment